Wednesday, July 24, 2024
HomePSL 2021Karachi Kings became PSL champions for the first time defeating Lahore Qalandar

Karachi Kings became PSL champions for the first time defeating Lahore Qalandar

Karachi: Karachi Kings defeated Lahore Qalandars by 5 wickets to become PSL champions for the first time.

In the big battle of the fifth edition of Pakistan Super League, Lahore Qalandars batted first and scored 134 runs for the loss of 7 wickets in the stipulated 20 overs.

From Karachi Kings, Sharjeel Khan and Babar Azam gave the team an aggressive start but Sharjeel returned to the pavilion after scoring 13 runs in the third over. Babar Azam led the scoreboard with Alex Hales, but on a total score of 49, Alex was also dismissed for 11 runs.

This was followed by a crucial 50-run partnership between Chadwick Walton and Babar Azam. Babar Azam, meanwhile, showed great responsibility and not only stopped the wicket but also pushed the scoreboard forward.

Babar Azam completed his half century off 39 balls which included 6 fours while Walton also gave his full support and played an innings of 22 runs. Iftikhar Ahmed was the guest for only 4 runs. Babar Azam played an unbeaten innings of 65 runs.

For Lahore Qalandars, Haris Rauf, Dilbar Hussain took 2, 2 and Samat Patel took one wicket each.

Earlier, Lahore Qalandars captain Sohail Akhtar decided to bat first after winning the toss against Karachi Kings, then Fakhruzzaman and Tamim Iqbal took to the field and batted carefully, losing no wickets in the power play. Both the openers batted very slowly and scored 68 runs in 10 overs.

In the eleventh over of the innings, Ameed Asif ended the innings of both the opening batsmen, Tamim Iqbal’s innings ended, he was dismissed for 35 off 38 balls and Fakhruzzaman played an innings of 27 off 24 balls. Muhammad Hafeez, the most important batsman of Lahore Qalandars, failed in the big battle and returned to the pavilion after scoring only 2 runs.

Ben Ding and Samat Patel tried to support the sinking boat of Lahore Qalandars but Samat Patel lost his courage for only 5 runs and Ben Ding also followed him to the pavilion, he also proved to be the guest for only 11 runs. Both the players were sent to the pavilion by Arshad Iqbal.

Lahore Qalandars captain Sohail Akhtar also failed and was dismissed after scoring only 14 runs. Muhammad Faizan did not even bother to open an account, he also fell victim to Waqas Maqsood. Shaheen Afridi remained unbeaten on 12 and David Wise on 14.

Arshad Iqbal, Ameed Asif, Waqas Maqsood took 2 wickets each and Emad Wasim took one wicket each for Karachi Kings.

It should be noted that the team that wins the title of the tournament will be given  500,000 with a glittering trophy while the runner-up team will get Rs. 200,000. There will also be Player of the Tournament, Best Batsman, Best Bowler and Spirit of Cricket awards.

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments